Strong come back though the field ride brings Mike Kras seventh position in Latvia

zondag 07 juli 2013

Mike Kras of the Beursfoon Rockstar Suzuki Team finished in seventh position at round four of the EMX2 Series in Kegums, Latvia. The rider from Fijnaart fought his way back after a mid pack start to finish the race in seventh position.


The track in Kegums was well prepared when the riders entered the track on Saturday morning. There were two groups in the EMX2 class and Mike was in the first group. Mike knows the track well in Kegums because last year he finished on the podium in the EMX2 class. He found his rhythm straight away in practice and managed to set the fourth fastest time.

In the qualifying heat he got a little bit of bad luck. He made a crash in the beginning of the race and was forced to retire from the race. Mike had to ride the last chance to qualify himself for the final on Sunday morning. Mike posted the fastest lap time in the last chance and qualified himself for the race on Sunday.

In the final he was on the complete right side behind the starting gate. Despite his bad starting position he came out of the first lap around twentieth position. Mike started a charge back through the field and after six laps he had worked himself up into tenth position. Mike kept pushing and with still several laps to go he moved up into seventh position. The sixth place rider had already a gap over himself and Mike but the Beursfoon Rockstar Suzuki rider gave everything he had and tried to close it down. Unfortunately he ran out of time and finished the race in seventh position.

Because Mike has missed the first few rounds of the European MX2 Series he sits in eighteenth position. Next weekend he will participate in round five of the series in Hyvinkaa, Finland.

Results EMX2 class in Latvia:

Final EMX2:
1 Jeremy Seewer
2 Valentin Guillod
3 Ceriel Klein Kromhof
4 Brent van Doninck
5 Damon Graulus
7 Mike Kras

European Championship Standings MX2:
1 Valentin Guillod 97
2 Jeremy Seewer 87
3 Damon Graulus 70
4 Ceriel Klein Kromhof 68
5 Brian Bogers 51
18 Mike Kras 14